Skip to main content

Bjarni Jónsson Prize for Research

The Bjarni Jónsson Prize for Research is awarded each year to a graduate teaching assistant in the Department of Mathematics for exceptional research in mathematics, as well as for outstanding research potential. The Bjarni Jónsson Prize was established in honor of Bjarni Jónsson, Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus, who taught at Vanderbilt from 1966 to 1992.

Professor Jónsson came to Vanderbilt in 1966 as the University’s first Distinguished Professor. A native of Iceland, he earned his bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from the University of California at Berkeley. Jónsson’s area of specialization is lattice theory and universal algebra. Fourteen students earned their Ph.D.s under Jónsson’s direction, seven of them at Vanderbilt. He received Vanderbilt’s Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award in 1974 and the Earl Sutherland Prize in 1982.

Past Recipients

2022 Srivatsav Kunnawalkam Elayavalli and Zachary Tripp
2021 Jonathan Ashbrock and Frank Wagner
2020 Hayden Jananthan and Pouria Salehi Nowbandegani
2019 Longxiu Huang and Bin Sun
2018 Arman Darbinyan and Bin Gui
2017 Colin Klaus and Yunxiang Ren
2016 Corey Jones
2015 Yuanzhen Shao
2014 Jacqueline Davis and Zhengwei Liu
2013 Alex Wires and William Young
2012 Jeremy LeCrone and Justin Schroeder
2011 Thomas Sinclair
2010 Abey Lopez
2009 Bogdan Nica and Iva Spaculova
2008 Piotr Nowak
2007 Hannah Callender
2006 Sergiy Borodachov and Aliaksei Muranau
2005 Marcin A. Kozik and Ashot Minasyan
2004 Tatyana Sorokina
2003 Nikolaos Galatos
2002 Charles Patrick Bahls
2001 Miklós Maróti
2000 Tanya M. Morton
1999 Thomas B. Dinsenbacher
1998 John W. Snow
1996 Deborah L. Cotton and Jeffrey A. Marasovich
1995 Gregory Fasshauer