Skip to main content
November 2, 2020

Denis Osin Selected as Fellow of the AMS

Professor Denis Osin has been selected as a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). Osin was selected for his contributions in geometric group theory, specifically groups acting on hyperbolic spaces.

The Fellows of the AMS designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of the program are to create an enlarged class of mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the profession and to honor excellence.

Ten other current/former Department of Mathematics faculty members have previously been named AMS Fellows. They are Akram Aldroubi, Dietmar Bisch, Mark N. Ellingham, Vaughan F.R. Jones, Ralph McKenzie, Alexander Olshanskii, Edward Saff, Mark Sapir, Larry Schumaker and Glenn Webb.

A description of the AMS Fellows program is at