Skip to main content

Practical Training Workshops

Posted by on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 in Uncategorized.

During your academic program you may encounter situations where you are required or have the opportunity to participate in an off-campus practical experiences. In the context of F-1 and J-1 students and the federal regulations, this is defined as practical training. F-1 and J-1 students are required to have authorization to participate in practical training experiences. There are three main types of practical training authorization:

  • Curricular Practical Training (CPT): Benefit for F-1 students who are required or have the option to participate in an off-campus practical experience. Students must have a specific major field of study to be eligible for CPT and in general the practical experience must be connected to a practical course (internship, practicum, etc.), a course requirement or a degree program requirement.
  • Optional Practical Training (OPT): Benefit for F-1 students who wish to undertake an optional paid practical experience off-campus during their program (pre-completion OPT) or after graduation (post-completion OPT).
  • Academic Training (AT): Benefit for J-1 students who wish to participate in a practical experience during their program (pre-completion) or upon graduation (post-completion).

Students are required to attend a practical training workshop before submitting an application. The workshops provide information about how the practical training authorizations function as well as the application process and how students maintain status during periods of practical training.

If you are graduating this semester or if you are considering participating in an internship or other off-campus practical experience you will need to attend a session before you apply for the authorization. Students planning for spring and summer internships should attend a workshop in the fall semester. Students who are graduating should attend an OPT session as early as possible in their last semester.

Spots are limited! Please register online for a workshop time to reserve a space. 

CPT Workshops:

Friday, February 15
12:00 PM-1:00 PM
SLC LL rooms 1&2

Tuesday, February 26
5:30-7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby – SLC 109

Friday, March 01
9:30 -10:30 AM
SLC – LL room 3

Wednesday, March 13
5:30-6:30 PM
ISSS Lobby – SLC 109

Monday, March 25
4:00-5:00 PM
Sarratt 216

Thursday, April 4
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM
Rand 306

Wednesday, April 10
4:30-5:30 PM
Rand 306

Thursdays, April 18
5:30-6:30 PM
ISSS Lobby – SLC 109

Monday, May 6
5:30-6:30 PM
ISSS Lobby – SLC 109

Tuesday, May 14
10:30-11:30 AM
SLC LL rooms 1&2

Thursday, May 23
4:00-5:00 PM
Sarratt 216

OPT Workshops For Bachelor’s, Master’s and Professional Students:

Monday, February 18
9:30 – 11:00 AM
Rand 308

Wednesday, February 27
3:30 – 5:00 PM
SLC – LL room 3

Monday, March 11
4:00 – 5:30 PM
Sarratt 216

Wednesday, March 20
5:30 – 7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby – SLC 109

Friday, March 29
9:30 – 11:00 AM
SLC – LL room 3

Tuesday, April 2
10:00 – 11:30 AM
Sarratt 112

Thursday, April 11
3:30 – 5:00 PM
SLC – LL room 3

Monday, April 22
5:30 – 7:00 PM
ISSS Lobby – SLC 109

Tuesday, May 7
9:30 – 11:00 AM
Sarratt 216

Wednesday, May 15
4:00 PM – 5:30 PM
SLC-LL rooms 1&2

Friday, May 24
10:30 AM – 12:00 noon
Sarratt 216

OPT Workshops For PhD Students:

Thursday, February 14
3:30-5:00 PM
SLC LL room 3

Monday, February 25
5:30-7:00 pm
ISSS Lobby, SLC 109

Tuesday, March 12
4:30-6:00 PM
Sarratt 216

Thursday, March 28
3:30-5:00 PM
SLC LL rooms 1&2

Tuesday, April 9
10:30 AM-12:00 noon
Sarratt 112

Wednesday, April 17
4:30 PM-6:00 PM
Rand 306

Friday, May 3
10:30 AM-12:00 noon
Rand 308

Thursday, May 16
3:30-5:00 PM
SLC LL room 3

Academic Training Workshops:

Academic training workshops are done by appointment. Please use the online registration form to submit your request and provide your availability.

 

Tags: