Skip to main content

2018-19 People and Projects at the Digital Humanities Center

Staff and Administration


Helmut Smith,  History

Associate Director

Mickey Casad, Cinema and Media Arts

Administrative Assistant

Joy Porter

Lab Assistants

Monica Gallagher

Rebecca Xu

Faculty Advisory Committee


Helmut Smith, History and Director of the Center for Digital Humanities

Faculty Members

Clifford Anderson, Religious Studies and Associate University Librarian for Research and Learning

Claire King, Communication Studies

Lutz Koepnick, German

Jane Landers, History

David Michelson, Divinity

Tracy Miller, History of Art

Vesna Pavlovic, Studio Art

Lynn Ramey, French

Steve Wernke, Anthropology

Ex Officio

Bonnie Dow, Dean of Academic Initiatives, College of Arts & Science, and Professor of Communication Studies

Mickey Casad, Cinema and Media Arts and Associate Director of the Center for Digital Humanities

Mellon Fellows in Digital Humanities

Mellon Faculty Fellows, 2018-19

Carwil Bjork-James, Anthropology

Sophie Bjork-James, Anthropology

Betsey Robinson, History of Art

Kimberly Welch, History

Mellon Postdoctoral Fellows, 2018-19

Andrea Kikkert, German, Russian, and East European Studies, Vanderbilt University

Christopher Mapes, History, Vanderbilt University

Don Rodrigues, English, Vanderbilt University

Mellon Graduate Fellows, 2018-19

Jacob Abell, French and Italian Studies and CMAP

Catheryn Beeson-Lynch, Sociology

Cameron Clark, English and CMAP

Amy Hill, German, Russian, and East European Studies and CMAP

Phyllis Johnson, Anthropology

Kalliopi (Kelly) Samiotou, Spanish and Portuguese and CMAP

Hilary Taylor, History

Terrell Taylor, English